The 7mm Narrow Gauge Association aims to encourage the modelling of
narrow gauge railways at a scale of or around 7mm to 1 foot (1:43)

7mm NGA Exhibition & AGM

Exhibition and AGM - General Information

Our Annual Exhibition is held in June of each year. The date can be found in the Show Diary. Currently it is held at the Town Hall in Burton-upon-Trent, a suitably central location to allow members from all over the country to attend.

The Exhibition is open to both members and non-members and is notable for displaying both a good number of superb model railway layouts in or about 7mm scale and having excellent trade representation. Refreshments and real ale are available
The AGM itself commences at 14:00 and every effort is made to keep it short and to the point allowing members to return to viewing the layouts. As part of the Exhibition a number of trophies are awarded for layouts and models at the convention and for these anyone attending the Exhibition can vote
Other trophies are awarded for items such as the best article in Narrow Lines in the previous year. This is the Mervyn Axson Trophy which members can vote for either using the list in Narrow News or online here - Mervyn Axson Literary Award when the list is updated in respect of 2018 articles. Members can access the Annual Exhibition Trophy Rules here. (You will need to log on)

Car Parking: Owing to the building of the University Technical College on what was formerly the Town Hall carpark, there is now limited car parking in the vicinity of the town hall. There is some on-street car parking available, but we ask that visitors respect our neighbours if they choose to park on the nearby streets. A pay and display car park is available at the nearby Railway Station, which is only a short walk away. 

The 38th Exhibition & AGM was held on Saturday 10th June 2017

The success of the AGM Exhibition relies on willing volunteers to assist on the day, with setting up the hall and helping our exhibitors to set up in the morning, manning the front door during the day and then helping pack it all up again at the end. Without these people, there would not be an Exhibition. We all owe a debt of thanks to the Trent Valley Area Group for yet another successful and enjoyable event.

Details of the various award winners at the 2017 Exhibition can be seen below

Don Mason Shield Winner Frank Sharp Manning Wardle style 0-4-0T
  Runner Up Ray Clasper Simplex 101T 4whl Diesel
John Stitson Shield Winner Frank Sharp Beyer, Peacock style 0-4-0T
  Runner Up Andrew Young Fletcher Jennings 0-4-0ST Sir Jasper
David Lloyd Trophy Winner Bill Bateson Citroen Railbus
  Runner Up Peter Page Clogher Valley Rly Brake van
Don Stoneham Trophy Winner Brian Lunn Well Wagon with boiler load
  Runner Up Chris Russell P.Way Train
Howard Clarke Trophy Winner Kevin Harlow Winter 1917, Western front
  Runner Up Ron Houghton American refuelling diorama
Earl of Clew Cup Winner Angus Bentley Wagon Lift at St Petroc viaduct
L & B Trophy Winner Paul Holmes FR No.14, Lyd
FR Trophy Winner Ray Clasper FR single Fairlie, Taliesin
American Outline Winner Brian Lunn Well Wagon with boiler load
  Runner Up Ron Houghton Refuelling diorama
Monckton Wylde Shield Winner Ron Houghton American refuelling diorama
David Taylor Cup for Best Layout Winner Arline Wilson Hadley, Stoneybrook & Swale
Mervyn Axson Literary Award Winner Brian Cameron Building Branchlines Eagle chassis
Philip Moss Award Small & Delightful Railway Group 25 years of Narrow Gauge South West
Special Award for Service to Assocn. David Charlesworth Many years’ service in many Committee roles

Adrian Gray    Competitions Steward    12th June 2017